16+ years

30 min.


Dance Theatre


Choreography & Performance: Sanja Tropp Frühwald

Choreography assistance: Ivan Mijačević

Performance assistance: Till Frühwald

Music: Ennio Morricone

Sound design: Ivan Mijačević

Light design: Till Frühwald, Wolfgang Weissgerber

Text: Sanja Tropp Frühwald

Source: Meg Stuart

Graphic design: Harald Gaukel


Co-production: VRUM / SEAD

Support: SZENE Salzburg


Photo: arunakaij

Starting position of this choreographic research is performative analysis of structures that influence the way in which we perceive the performer, her codes and movements. Product is a stage material for a solo performer on remains of everyday heroism. Basis of the research is counterpoint between the outside shell (mask) and inner world of the subject, macro and micro cosmos opposition, as well as frictions which appear in touching points of those two oppositions. Physicality of the performer is affected by different approach to timing, props, use of voice and sounds, and different emotional states. Research of the film directing structures on the work of Sergio Leone and search for specific time-space relations between the movie cuts and choreographic methods represents a special layer of interest. Results of this research, as well as Ennio Morricone’s film music, are applied on contemporary reality, personal sources and given theme. Willingness to live on the edge requires eagerness to cultivate an erotic acuity – every day a new physicality. If only the struggle would begin again… If only she could face the danger now… If only she could risk her life and fight forever… That would be an eternal relief…Rehearsal playlist: Elvis Presley “The best of”, Leonard Cohen “10 new songs”, Motorhead “The ace of spades”, Johnny Cash “Wanted Man”, Calexico “Feast of Wire”, Ceza “Rapstar”, Depeche Mode “Some great reward”, The Fugees “The score”, “Tarantino Collection”, Tito&Tarantula “Tarantism”


Thank You / Hvala: Simon Paul Schneider, Susan Rethorst, Susan Quinn, SEAD office, Michael Stolhofer and SZENE technical staff, Andrea Kahlhammer, EkS scena, Elfi and Joerg Eberhard, Mirjam Klebel, Vlatka Gabud, Abhilash Ninngapa, Branka and Rajko Tropp and all of the feedbacking team


Year of premiere: 2008.